

December 9, 2024

## Hello Everyone,

As the warmth of the holiday season approaches, I want to take a moment to reflect on the outstanding accomplishments of our Health Sciences Programs in 2024. It's been a year filled with growth, adaptation, and unwavering dedication to providing exceptional education and training opportunities across Northern Ontario. I extend my heartfelt gratitude to each and every one of you – our faculty, staff, preceptors, and community partners – for your invaluable contributions to our collective success. Merci Beaucoup! Chi-Miigwech! Thank you very much!

## Here's a glimpse of some of the highlights that made 2024 so special:

- Dietetic Practicum Program (DPP): With a new name and a renewed commitment to
  excellence, the DPP soared to new heights in 2024! We celebrated the graduation of our final
  NODIP cohort and welcomed our inaugural DPP cohort. The program also achieved a
  remarkable six-year accreditation from EQual Accreditation Canada. Congratulations to Cara
  Green and Denise Raftis for their outstanding leadership during this transformative year!
- Physician Assistant (PA) Consortium: The PA Consortium also achieved full accreditation from EQual Accreditation Canada, solidifying its position as a leading provider of PA education. The program welcomed an additional 10 students, completing the provincial expansion and further strengthening its commitment to meeting the healthcare needs of Northern Ontario. PA learners completed over 200 placements in the North in 2024! Thank you to all of the Consortium staff and, in particular, Britton Sprules and Teena McLaren for their tireless efforts in coordinating placements and supporting PA learners.
- Medical Physics Residency Education Program (MPREP): MPREP welcomed two new residents, Drs. Gurvir Kaur Bhullar and Thomas Ndaro Bulenga, while celebrating the successful completion of the program by Dr. Fazal ur-Rehman and Mr. Robert Bellis. Our gratitude goes to Drs. Peter McGhee and Mike Oliver for their dedication to mentoring and guiding these residents.
- Rehabilitation Sciences (RS) Program: The RS program welcomed new faces, including Jennie Carroll as Manager, and Kate Stadnyk as Clinical Learning Liaison. Bethany Thompson also joined the Health Sciences team as the Programs and Partnerships Coordinator, supporting the RS Program and the DPP. We want to thank Jennifer de Bakker for all of her contributions to the Health Sciences Programs who moved to the Advancement Team at NOSM University this fall. The RS program facilitated 141 placements for visiting learners across Northern Ontario, providing invaluable hands-on experience 55 OT, 59, PT, 22 SLP and 5 AUD placements. Thank you to Jennie, Beth and the entire team of Clinical Learning Liaisons (Kate, Erica, Sarah, Cindy, Brock and Jamie) for their outstanding work in coordinating placements and supporting learners and preceptors.



- Preceptor Education and Continuing Education: We continued to invest in the professional development of our faculty and preceptors, offering a variety of virtual and self-directed learning opportunities. Our preceptor development sessions and lunchtime webinars were met with enthusiasm, each with over 100 individuals participating in the live sessions or accessing sessions asynchronously throughout the year. The DPP and RS programs also completed a number of site visits across the North, delivering additional in-person preceptor training opportunities. Drawing upon the insights from our summer needs assessment, which garnered responses from over 170 faculty and preceptors, we look forward to enhancing our webinar and preceptor education offerings in 2025. Thank you to Sheila Renton for doing an incredible job helping to coordinate opportunities between the programs and health sciences faculty.
- Celebrating Our Preceptors: In May, we had the pleasure of honoring 5 DPP and 14 RS preceptors with Health Sciences Preceptor Awards at NOSM University's Achievement Celebration in Toronto. For the DPP, the recipients were Bridget King, Rachel Palahnuk, Lela Hopper, Chantal Belanger and Kelsey McGinn. For the RS Program, the recipients were Linda Smith, Sarah-Jane Mason, Mavia DeNoble, Monique Jardine, Marie-Josee Dagenais, Fraser Stephenson, Jill Whitwam, Derek Debassigne, Cheryl Alderdice, Sally Guillemette, Carrie Linklater, Brenda Liddle, Allan Gowan and Rachel Pessah.

These achievements are a testament to the collaborative spirit and commitment of our entire Health Sciences community. As we look ahead to 2025, I am filled with optimism and excitement for what we can accomplish together. Wishing you all a joyous holiday season filled with warmth, laughter, and cherished moments with loved ones. May the New Year bring continued success and fulfillment.

Sincerely,

Mike

**Dr. Mike Ravenek OT Reg. (Ont.), PhD, CAPM**Director, Health Sciences & Program Development
Assistant Professor, Division of Clinical Sciences
NOSM University