About NOSM Academics Research Communities


More News

NOSM’s 64 New MD Students Travel the North during Orientation Week

Oath Ceremony - Web

Monday officially marked the first day of classes for 64 new medical students at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM), following a week of travel to learn about the geographic, social, cultural, and linguistic diversity of Northern Ontario. Orientation Week–or O-Week, as it is affectionately referred to at NOSM–is about so much more than helping students find their classes. NOSM’s newest group of students spend the week becoming immersed in the cultural, linguistic, and geographic diversity of the North. This is their introduction to NOSM’s wider campus of Northern Ontario, where they will live and learn for the next four years.

NOSM Researchers Shortlisted for Prestigious International Award

Greg Ross Team

Researchers with the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) and Laurentian University have been shortlisted for the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) Global Research Project Award. Ashley Scott and Greg Ross and their team were nominated for their research project titled Industrial off-gas supports biofuel production—the only project from Canada to make the shortlist. The project is focused on utilizing heat energy and CO2 from smelter off-gas to provide conditions favorable for growing algae, which in turn produce many high-value products. Algae being used are from Northern Ontario and produce high levels of lipids which can be readily turned into biodiesel. This algae produced biofuel is of great benefit in underground applications, as it burns much cleaner than diesel obtained from fossil fuels. This provides for a better working environment and makes biodiesel sought after for mining applications. The research team is working with Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (a Glencore Company) and currently has eight graduate students working on the project, including students from Engineering, Biology, and Biomolecular Sciences at Laurentian University. The awards will be presented at the IChemE Global Awards Dinner in Birmingham, England on Thursday, November 5, 2015. Good luck!

NOSM Hosts Historic Elders Gathering

Mt. McKay

From August 18 - 20, 2015, the Aboriginal Affairs Unit of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held a historic Elder's gathering on the traditional lands of Fort William First Nation. The gathering brought together Aboriginal Elders from First Nations and Métis communities across NOSM's wider campus of Northern Ontario to discuss the future of the School's Council of Elders. Over the past ten years, the School has developed relationships with more than 20 Elders who each have special gifts for working with community members.

Learn more.




NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube
NOSM SP Button
Giving to NOSM
Health Sciences Library